Now Accepting Award Nominations! – Children's Eye Foundation of AAPOS

Now Accepting Award Nominations!



Now Accepting Nominations!

At this time, the joint CEF/FAAPOS Awards Committee is asking for nominations from the AAPOS Membership for the following prestigious awards and recognition:

  • The Marshall M. Parks Medals (Silver & Bronze Medals)
  • Legacy Category Inductees for the Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus Hall of Fame
  • The Champions for Vision Award



Through these awards, the Children’s Eye Foundation & AAPOS seek to honor exemplary service and achievement.

A committee comprised of AAPOS and CEF Board Members will meet in August to determine this year’s recipients.  Nominations for these awards are accepted anytime, but no later than July 31st. 

Please send your nominations to no later than July 31st.

We request that the names of the nominees be accompanied by one or two paragraphs explaining why the individual fulfills the criteria of the specific award you are nominating them for.

The qualification criteria for each award are as follows:

  • Silver Medal Eligibility:
    An individual who has made a substantial contribution to pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus. The substantial contribution may be in basic research, clinical research, clinical care, educational activities, organizational activities, or social welfare. These contributions to children’s eye and strabismus care should be of world-wide significance and impact, or a discovery or innovation that suddenly advances the progress of ophthalmology in all parts of the world.
  • Bronze Medal Eligibility:
    Bronze medals will be awarded in the spirit of Dr. Parks’ legacy to individuals who have made a mark in the realm of pediatric ophthalmology/strabismus by demonstrating excellence through leadership, innovation, dedication, outstanding contribution, and/or lifetime achievement. Past AAPOS presidents will receive bronze medals. Outstanding original investigations in pediatric ophthalmology and/or ocular motility, significant contributions as an ophthalmic educator, and those with meritorious and remarkable service to pediatric ophthalmology will be eligible for a Bronze Marshall M. Parks Medal.
  • Legacy Hall of Fame Induction Eligibility:
    The LEGACY Collection in the Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Hall of Fame recognizes the seminal lifetime contributions made by outstanding individuals to the knowledge base and understanding of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus.
  • Champions for Vision Award Qualifications:Individuals or organizations that have made an extraordinary impact on children’s vision, and children’s blindness prevention efforts will be considered for this award. Special consideration will be given to efforts that are innovative and make an impact on children’s vision. Areas of consideration include, but are not limited to: local and international vision outreach efforts, research, technology, procedure innovation, and blindness prevention programs.


Thank you for your support of these distinguished professional awards and achievements.

The recipients of the 2019 awards will be announced to members of AAPOS during the annual meeting in San Diego.