CEF of AAPOS Board of Directors

Derek Sprunger, MD

Derek T. Sprunger, MD

Derek T. Sprunger, MD
CEF of AAPOS Advisory Board Chairman
Term: May 2019-July 2021
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Dr. Derek Sprunger, Associate Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology at Indiana University School of Medicine, is the former President of The American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), is Past President of the International Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Council (IPOSC) and the Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology (IAO). His service to the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) included 2 terms on the Council and 1 term on The Secretariat of State Affairs. Dr. Sprunger is a Parks Bronze Medal winner and has been inducted into the Pediatric Ophthalmology Hall of Fame.

He is a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from AAPOS and Senior Achievement Award from the AAO. He has been Ophthalmologist of the year twice in the State of Indiana and is an Emeritus Member of American Eye Study Club (AESC) who awarded him the John H Killian Award.

Dr. Sprunger has written or contributed to over 100 journal publications and book chapters on a range of topics. He has been involved in training over 150 residents, 50 USA fellows, and international fellows.