CEF of AAPOS Board of Directors

Scott Larson, MD

Scott A. Larson, MD

Scott A. Larson, MD
Term: January 2017 – December 2023
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA

Dr. Scott Larson is a faculty member and Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Iowa.  He currently serves AAPOS as the Secretary for Program and the Counsilor to the AAO.  He was elected to the AAPOS board of directors in July 2017.

Dr. Larson received his medical degree from Loma Linda University in 1998.  He completed his residency and fellowship in Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus at the University of Iowa.  He spent nearly a decade as a faculty member at the University of Utah from (2003-2012) before returning to the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Iowa in 2012. 

Dr. Larson has been an advocate for education on the local, regional, national, and international levels.  Through his involvement in AAPOS, he helped organize educational meetings in the United States and throughout the world.   He has developed online resources to aid practicing physicians, residents, and fellows in the form of webinars, web sites, wiki sites, and surgical videos. 

He won the University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology Faculty Teacher of the Year award in 2014 and the Medical Student Teaching Award in 2018.   He received an AAPOS Honor Award in 2018.  In 2019, he was named the William E. Scott Chair for Pediatric Ophthalmology.  He previously held the William E. Scott Professorship from 2016-2019.